The little things

Happy Wednesday!! I cannot wait till this week is over.  I have been in such a blah mood I can’t seem to shake. When I get a little down about life circumstances (crummy job, finance worries, etc), I try to focus on the good things in my life. I was touched by a post Julie did over at Peanut Butter Fingers where she described the little things that bring her joy.  In rough economic and political times such as these, I think its a great idea to remember the little things are what make life worth living. Here are some of mine:

Reading in bed with my boyfriend M. So yes, we are old.  Both M and I love to read so frequently before bed we read next to one another.  It’s a bit cheesy, but I love it. I just finished The Host by Stephenie Meyer. It was a fantastic read that I could not put it down!! I highly recommend it for all you fellow dystopian novel lovers!

Making coffee for my mom. When I visit my mom I usually wake up before she does (woah, role reversal!).  When my dad was diagnosed with cancer and was home a lot, he would still make it out of bed to make and bring my mom her coffee in bed before work.  On weekends it was a leisurely thing they enjoyed together, sipping coffee and talking about weekend plans.  I make it a point to make and bring her coffee when I’m home. Even though I can’t replace her soul mate, I feel like, for a brief moment, I can provide a tiny morsel of that joy I know she misses so much.

Watching the sunrise/sunset. Cliche? Nope. I don’t watch it every morning and night, but especially when I go on vacation, I make it a point to watch at least one sunrise and sunset.  It is such an amazing feeling of accomplishment and wonder to see the sun rise and set in different parts of the world.

Meiterranean Cruise Juune 2012 117 - Copy

Sunset on cruise ship in Europe with S

Meiterranean Cruise Juune 2012 119 - Copy

Sunset continued

Meiterranean Cruise Juune 2012 312 - Copy

Sunrise in Mediterranean Sea

I also enjoy seeing the beautiful sunrises on my commute to work.

No filter and yes I took this :)

No filter- walk to work

Sadly, thanks to daylight savings, I don’t see them any more 😦

Sunflower seed butter.

sunbutter

If you follow me on Instagram or Twitter you know my obsession love for sunflower seed butter.  Especially Once Again nut butter, which is made where my boyfriend grew up! They make excellent things there 🙂

Tiny accomplishments at Crossfit. It’s hard for me to be proud of the little accomplishments in Crossfit.  I tend to want to get things right the first time and get frustrated when I’m the ‘wimpy’ one in class, but Monday night I didn’t care.  I did power snatches with the ‘training’ bar and added 5# to each side, plus the wood plates for stability, with no shame.  I even had a SUPER hardcore coach who was taking the class work right behind me, intensely power lifting his way through with a crazy intimidating, weight belt-strapped-muscle-heavy body.  His name is Sven…. doesn’t that just ooze intimidation?!  But I did the workout and finished with good reps and did not even care he was there!

Cat snuggles. When my roommate is home, her two cats predominantly stick to her side.  But when I get home before she does they latch themselves onto me and it is so cute!

Patty all snuggled :)

Patty all snuggled 🙂

Patty will snuggle with me on the couch and Phindus will sleep on my bed.  They aren’t mine, but for a few hours it feels nice to have fur babies comfort me 🙂

Those are just a few for now.  Maybe I can do a regular post about the little things in life I enjoy to help inspire others that are also in a rut!

Rock on Lovers 🙂

What are some of your little joys in life?

2 thoughts on “The little things

Leave a comment