Out of (South) Africa! Part 1

Hello lovers!  I am back from a fantastic vacation in South Africa!

Rainbow- a good omen!

Rainbow while landing in Nelspruit- a good omen!

Thank you again to Michelle, Karen, Alex and Alicia for guest posting last week!  I had no access to tv, let alone the internet, but I wanted to say my heart goes out to Boston.  We didn’t even hear about what happened till two days after when a fellow lodge guest told us- lucky suckers had a tablet and were not cheap like us able to get spotty internet access.  When these things happen I just want to scream “ENOUGH.”  But we are UNITED and I have faith in our love for one another to get us through this tragedy.

Back to the trip!  It really was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that I will never forget, and I am so happy my best girlfriend S was with me- she is always patient and helps me with my flying fears and I could not have gotten through essentially 6 flights without her!

Fortunately NOT our plane. Propellers? This girl would be walking if that were the case!

Fortunately NOT our plane. Propellers? This girl would be walking if this was our plane!

We landed after an 18 hour flight in Johannesburg around 5pm- just enough time to quickly check into City Lodge OR Tambo– conveniently connected to the airport!- and rushed in a cab to Crossfit Urban Shack!  I emailed them a few weeks back looking to join a WOD, or at least to trade shirts from my box.

#crossfit

Neat Crossfit box!

Unfortunately I didn’t have time for a WOD, but I did exchange shirts and got a pic with the owner and one of the coaches!

We hit the sack soon after dinner as we had an early local flight to Nelspruit- a city about an hour drive from our game lodge and final destination.  We woke to this amazing sunrise!

Amazing

Amazing

South Africa 2013 037

'Yummy' airport snack?  NOT

False advertising- this was NOT ‘yummy’

A yucky airport snack and quick 45 min flight and we arrived at the (teeny tiny) Nelspruit airport.

Thatched roofs are so in

Thatched roofs are so in

Another hour+ drive and we finally made it to our ‘hotel’:

Royal Kruger Lodge

Royal Kruger Lodge!

After settling into our new digs:South Africa 2013 048we relaxed a bit and chatted with our fellow Australian guests before heading out on a Sundowner drive to a nearby river.

South Africa 2013 063

South Africa 2013 061I enjoyed a new-to-me cider- Savanna hard cider!  Not bad, but not apple-y enough for me.  It was definitely refreshing after a long couple days of traveling!

After the sun set and it started to get chilly, we headed back to the lodge for Boma dinner!

South Africa 2013 072We experienced some less-than-stellar dinners while we were there, mainly because both S and I are not red meat eaters and the rest of the world is.  Lamb and beef made frequent appearances.  Thank goodness for emergency protein bar snacks!  Well, and this beauty right here:

South Africa 2013 074

Malva pudding!  This is a classic South African dessert I could eat for every meal, of every day, of the rest of my life.  I nearly licked the plate but didn’t want to leave a bad impression of us Yanks 🙂  I actually recreated this last weekend for my family and they loved it!  Don’t worry, I’ll be posting the recipe later this week 🙂

We ended our first night snuggling with some ants in our bed before passing out.  Thankfully the little buggers were dead but it was a bit unnerving.  We simply told ourselves we were in the African Bush and roughin’ it.  We survived 🙂

The next day we woke up WAY before dawn for our first game drive…and you wont believe what we saw on our first day!

But you’ll have to wait for Part 2 to find out!

This trip was definitely Marvelous, as was my weekend catching up and relaxing with my bf and family.  Hope everyone had a marvelous weekend!  Head on over to Katie’s blog to link up your MIMM post!

Question: Ever been to Africa?  Or go on Safari/game drives?  What did you do this weekend?

7 thoughts on “Out of (South) Africa! Part 1

  1. Welcome back! Glad you had a safe and wonderful trip! Your pictures look amazing. I can’t wait for you to post the dessert recipe. I would be really afraid to try most things in Africa, but I’m guessing you didn’t have much of a choice in food choices!

    Did you feel safe while you were there? That’s one of the things I’d be worried about …

    • It wasn’t too bad- we had a ‘menu’ showing us what was for lunch and dinner at our lodge, and most of the dishes were pretty ‘safe’, though not what I would consider part of my health conscious way of eating, such as burger and fries for lunch (no veggies or fruit) and lamb shank with veggies and rice for dinner, with usually a weird app like caprese salad and chicken soup. Anyway, I did feel safe- we were with people all the time. The only time I felt a bit nervous was in the cab on the way to Crossfit box in Johannesburg. He didn’t know where he was going at first, and the box was in an industrial part of town. But otherwise I felt safe the whole time!

  2. Squee! This post makes me so happy! I love that you immediately sought out a Crossfit box once you arrived in Johannesburg—that’s dedication!

    Kruger Park was one of the highlights of my trip to South Africa, so I’m so glad you were able to enjoy it! You won’t believe this, but I stayed at The Royal Kruger Lodge while I was there, too! Such an amazing place! I can’t wait to hear about the animals you saw the next day…Were there lions, and elephants, and giraffes, oh my? 😉

    Happy Wednesday, Krista! ❤

  3. Pingback: Out of (South) Africa Part 2 and a Recipe! | Tiny n Fit

Leave a Reply

