The “I Don’t Want to Do Anything” Week

Chances are, if you’re human, you’ve had a week, or many, where you just don’t want to do anything. You don’t want to get up early to workout out, or you skip the gym after work and go straight home. You don’t want to be mindful of what you eat or how much you eat and it slowly becomes easier and easier to put off tasks and to-do’s that have been waiting for you. Are dishes piling up in your sink? Yeah, you just might be having one of those weeks, too!

I’m Alicia, guest blogging for Krista while she’s exploring South Africa (so jealous)! And I wanted to share with you that my week of the “do nothings” was last week. And it wasn’t pretty.

“Oh, I’ll get that run in tomorrow” I’d tell myself. And then tomorrow would come and I’d convince myself I could get it in the next day. Soon enough, it was Thursday and I had two runs to get in before a long run Sunday, fitting them in somehow between two strength training sessions (and I’d already cancelled one that week)! Oops.

As I lay in bed thinking about how I’ve slacked off and put off the things I needed (and most always want) to do, it became easier for me to succumb to the lazy. But something on my wall caught my eye and I recognized I had two choices. I could choose to continue to do nothing. Or, I could get off my butt and push myself back into my routine that has consistently proven to make me feel happier, and not worse, like being lazy does.

Sometimes we just need little reminders, or a few tricks up our sleeve, to get us to put our game faces on and get back into action. Here are a few things that work for me – maybe they’ll work for you during your next “I don’t want to do anything” week! (And share your own tips/tricks in the comments, too!)

  • Keep a visual reminder of why you do what you do close to your bed, or the place where you tend to get the laziest. I have a race bib hanging up next to my bed with my most recent 5k PR written on it and my next goal time underneath. It’s a daily reminder of why I choose to be a runner, what it means to me and what I get from being a runner. Whatever that motivation is for you, have a reminder close by to keep your it top of mind when you need it.

    The bib right next to my bed  is a daily reminder of why I runand why I should get up and run no matter how lazy I feel. PRs don’t
set themselves!

    The bib right next to my bed is a daily reminder of why I run
    and why I should get up and run no matter how lazy I feel. PRs don’t
    set themselves!

  • Take a class or two, or schedule one. It’s easy to flake on a workout or run when its just yourself, but its harder to flake on a class you’ve signed up for. Use the commitment and social pressures of showing up to class to keep you on track when nothing else seems to work!

  • Ask yourself if something else is going on and work to resolve or acknowledge other life stressors that can cause “I don’t want to do anything” weeks. Sometimes these weeks are masked by underlying or unacknowledged feelings. Take the time to ask yourself if there are other things going on in your head, heart and mind that are really bothering you and keeping you from being your best. Stress, frustration, anxiety… these are typical triggers for me and once I recognize “oh yeah, I am upset about that”, it’s usually enough to move me forward into the “I can do things” mentality again.

  • Make a list of why you do anything and have it handy for weeks like this. Whether its as simple as “I walk the dog because it’s the only way she can use the bathroom and I get some fresh air in the process”, having a list packed with more reasons than you have excuses can be convincing enough to get you back on track.

    This little girl gets me up and going - she depends on me!

    This little girl gets me up and going – she depends on me!

  • Give yourself a break. Maybe you need a rest day or two. Listen to your body. If you need a break to “do nothing” then take it. Be in tune with yourself so you will know the difference between needing to slow down and rest versus a mental funk you need to snap yourself out of.

I hope these tips were helpful! Thanks to Krista for letting me have some time on her blog while she’s away!

– Alicia

Leave a Reply

