Quinoa and Oat Breakfast Muffins- Two ways!

Hello and happy hump day!  I hope everyone’s having a great week- and that you had a stellar weekend like me!  Here’s a quick recap:

I drove to my momma’s house this weekend with the bf for a quick visit.  I didn’t get to spend time with my niece, nephew or sister as they headed to a cheer competition a few hours away.  I’m sad I didn’t get to see much of them but they won several titles!!  Proud auntie right here 🙂  Friday night we had a fabulous Mexican dinner out, followed by movie night where we saw ‘Olympus has fallen.’  While the firearm-instructor bf and federal-government-employee-self kind of nitpicked the validity of the movie, it was still very entertaining and suspenseful!  Plus, this man in any movie is a great movie!

Swoon

Swoon

Source

Saturday I spent a couple hours tossing out junk I saved from my childhood so momma could have her garage back.  I still have several more boxes to go through in her basement, but it felt good to clear out stuff I no longer need.  (PS- this site has great advise on when to let sentimental things go).  Other than a few key pieces (my high school diploma, old photos) I said a quick goodbye to my pogs and tossed the rest out.

Aside from the normal GCL- grocery/chores/laundry- the rest of the weekend was pretty relaxing.  At Crossfit I found my 1RM (1 rep max) for overhead squats- 55#.  Not much, but it’s a good starting point, and I can only progress from here! I also dead-lifted 65#- more than I ever thought I could do!  I am seriously in love with Crossfit.  I am doing so much and pushing my body more than I ever imagined and it feels amazing!! I have never been more sore but it hurts so good!

muscle hurt

Truth

Source

Well, what better way to finish off a great weekend and break up the work week than with a recipe?  I never really had the intention to post these until Bethany urged me to after seeing this pic on Instagram:

Wow, that pan needs some scrubbing!

Wow, that pan needs some scrubbing!

I was in such a baking mood I decided to make two different kinds of muffins- cinnamon and blueberry (pictured).

These sucker’s are dense and lightly sweet and packed with healthy ingredients that make a great addition to any breakfast- and they have some serious staying power!

Ok ok, enough tempting, now get to baking!

Blueberry or Cinnamon Quinoa Flake and Oat Breakfast Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C applesauce (unsweetened)
  • 2 eggs
  • just under 1 T ground flax seed
  • 1/2 C oats
  • 1 C quinoa flakes
  • 1/2 C unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 T lil shuga (or stevia to taste)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice to taste

Pick one (or add your own! Get creative!):

  • 1/2 T Cinnamon (for cinnamon muffins)
  • roughly 1/2 C frozen blueberries (for blueberry muffins)
YUM!

YUM!

Method:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a muffin tin with muffin liners- and spray the paper ones with non-stick spray, this batter sticks! Whisk eggs, applesauce, vanilla, almond milk and spices in a bowl until well combined.  Add quinoa, flax seed, and oats and mix until just combined.  If making blueberry muffins, add the barely-thawed blueberries (just take out and let them thaw while you prep your other ingredients) and mix until combined.  Spoon into muffin tins and bake at 375 for 25 minutes or until lightly brown. Let cool a bit and serve!  I topped mine with a little sunbutter- well, because I put that shizzle on everything! (ha ha like Franks redhot, but BETTER!)

Get creative with these- add in mini chocolate chips, use other frozen berries or dried cranberries, add a couple tablespoons of nutbutter- or sunbutter!!- add chopped walnuts or sunflower seeds.  The possibilities are endless!

Have a great week everyone!

Rock on lovers 🙂

6 thoughts on “Quinoa and Oat Breakfast Muffins- Two ways!

  1. Yessss!!! I’ve been waiting for you to post this!!! I’ll be making these!

    ps..congrats on breaking up with the 90’s I still have my pogs and polly pockets, can’t seem to part with them.

Leave a Reply

