Awesome Weekend and Cookie Recipe!

Hi everyone and happy Sunday!  As much as I love the weather we are experiencing today in DC, this insomniac is not happy about losing an hour of sleep.  Oh well, I take it back- it’s gorgeous outside and I look forward to warmer weather 🙂

While I spent my Friday night with a girlfriend and being a total party animal folding laundry, Saturday I had every intention of hitting a couple stores to find more work tops along with a couple errands.  I ended up making more money by selling my old clothes to Plato’s closet and pawning some old jewelry than buying new clothes.  Oh well, such is life.  The driving with my windows down more than made up for it!

Oh, and when did shopping at the mall become such a pain?  This is how I remember going to the mall:mall

Source

Now its full of crowds, obnoxious teen mall rats, and angry shoppers.  Needless to say after two stores I was done.  Pinkberry was my only savior 🙂

After shopping my amazing boyfriend, a 9-5 firearms instructor, took my roommate, her boyfriend and I to the shooting range.  Actually our second date he took me to the range- he was very patient teaching my what to do and how to stand, and watching him teach my friends with the same patience was very endearing.  We ended the night with board games, adult beverages, chips and guac and of course, lots of giggles from this lightweight 🙂

I also got but by the baking bug, too!  I have been loving my quinoa flake noatmeal so much I wanted to find a way to incorporate that into healthy cookie form.  I kind of threw this together on the fly but they turned out great!

Pumpkin Protein Quinoa Flake Chocolate Chip Cookies!

quinoa cookie2

Ingredients:

  • 1.2 scoops of vanilla whey protein powder (or egg, rice, etc)
  • 1/2 C quinoa flakes
  • 1/2 C liquid egg whites
  • 1 heaping T coconut flour
  • 1/4 C pumpkin puree
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 2-4 T mini chocolate chips
  • Stevia, cinnamon, nutmeg to taste

Method: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spray paper with nonstick cooking spray (just in case!).  Mix all ingredients together until well combined.  Spoon dough on paper-lined cookie sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes until slightly golden brown and puffed.  Let cool slightly and enjoy!

I’m headed for a nap!  Enjoy your weekend!

Rock on Lovers 🙂

4 thoughts on “Awesome Weekend and Cookie Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Budget Help and MIMM! | Tiny n Fit

  2. Pingback: Together Tuesday #6 | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear?

Leave a Reply

