Quinoa flake noatmeal recipe and MIMM#3

Happy Marvelous in My Monday!! It’s my third one!  Yay!

My weekend was uneventful, other than a great brunch with Michelle and Stef 🙂  I love those ladies 🙂 I also finally saw Magic Mike with some girlfriends from work.  Verdict?  Meh.  I’ve actually seen something similar in Vegas….I’ll leave the rest to your imagination 🙂

Boy do I have a great recipe for you! I am a former oatmeal addict-turned-paleo-ish eater and miss my morning bowl of warm, thick, deliciousness something awful. I have been trying different recipes found on the interwebs to supplement my old oatmeal cravings.  If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram you now I am a huge fan of my morning breakfast scramble from Tina’s blog.  As much as I love that recipe I needed a change!  I would really love grits all the time, especially after enjoying a lovely meal at Busboys last week, but sadly the nutrition profile is less than stellar.  High empty carbs, barely any protein, and, if we’re splitting hairs, corn is technically a grain. I wanted something similar and after some research I found this:

quinoa flakes

Quinoa flakes!  I was a bit skeptical since the taste of quinoa is a bit strong (not bad, just different nutty flavor), but after making this batch last night I am sold!  And have a new breakfast addiction 🙂

It is thick, creamy, only a slight quinoa flavor, and full of protein and healthy carbs!

Breakfast Quinoa Flake Noatmeal

Like my pink Menchies spoon??

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C organic quinoa flakes
  • 1/4 C liquid egg whites
  • 1/4 C unsweetened almond milk (or other milk of your choice)
  • 1/4 C canned pumpkin
  • Stevia, cinnamon, nutmeg, etc to taste

Method:

Cook quinoa according to instructions: bring to a boil 1 C of water.  Add quinoa flakes, stir well and cook for 1 minute.  Add egg whites, pumpkin, almond milk and spices and combine and mix well.  Remove from heat, stirring frequently. (Or, cook on medium high heat for additional 2-3 minutes, which will make it very thick!).  Add whatever toppings float your boat! I love adding sunflower seed butter and watching get all melty 🙂

Marvelous recipe indeed!!

Today was also marvelous because I did a Crossfit type workout at work with a close friend/coworker (lots of work in that sentence!) and it was killer!  He had been asking me to join his workouts for some time so I finally caved- he chose and he delivered a sweaty workout!

For time:

  • 25 walking lunges
  • 20 pull ups (assisted)
  • 50 box jumps
  • 20 double unders (I did 40 single)
  • 20 V ups
  • 30 kettle bell swings
  • 20 burpees
  • 25 dips
  • 20 back extensions
  • 20 wall balls

We finished in about 30 minutes and were both a sweaty mess after.   I look forward to more crazy workouts with him in the future!

Happy MIMM!  Hope it was marvelous for you, too 🙂

Rock on Lovers 🙂  Any good recipes or workouts lately that kick butt?

3 thoughts on “Quinoa flake noatmeal recipe and MIMM#3

  1. Quinoa flakes! I’m going to have to find these. Oatmeal isn’t always gluten-free, but quinoa is, so that’s perfect 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Awesome Weekend and Cookie Recipe! | Tiny n Fit

Leave a Reply

