MIMM, Crossfit Jitters, and Cauliflower Crust Recipe!

Happy Marvelous In My Monday!  It is my first MIMM post thanks to Katie over at Healthy Diva Eats.  I am excited to participate and hope to keep this running like my Friday Favorites posts!

Marvelous is that I am writing this post before I head to my first Crossfit Elements class.  I am super excited but nervous, too.  Ever since I was young I would get really anxious before doing anything new that scared me. Embarrassing quick back story- I was so terrified of going to middle school I got a tour from the principal over the summer before classes started.  My anxiety has definitely lessened over the years (thank goodness), but I am still pretty nervous.  How will I do?  Will I constantly feel judged?  Will I want to push myself beyond my limits to impress the coaches and members?  Will I fall to the comparison trap thinking how I’ll never be like Susie-squats-like-a-beast?

joySource

When I get overwhelmed by this kind of anxiety I usually just turn off all my mental images of how the evening might play out (imagine- everyone laughs at me, I can’t complete any moves, I leave crying of shame, etc) and just go!  Everyone will be new like me and these classes are designed to help me learn.  I will have no expectation except to enjoy this new workout and hopefully make some new friends.  (Confession: I secretly hope I’m not the last one in anything tonight).

Moving on- Marvelous is today’s new recipe!  I decided I wanted pizza for Superbowl dinner but definitely wanted a healthy version that wouldn’t leave me with heartburn or a tummy ache.  I had been wanting to make a cauliflower crust for a long time so I bought some cauliflower and went on an online hunt for an easy recipe.  I am not a huge fan of cheese, so I found this recipe from the Detoxinista and left out the cheese.  Instead, I added about ½ T of flax ‘egg’ in addition to the one egg in the recipe to help bind everything together.  To my surprise it turned out fantastic!!  I topped my pizza with some marinara and shredded chicken breast I cooked earlier.  It was so good even the bf ate a whole piece!!

Cauliflower Pizza Crust- adapted from Detoxinista

Crustastic

Crustastic

Ingredients:

  • 1 small head cauliflower (a bit bigger than softball/grapefruit size)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T ground flaxmeal
  • Italian seasoning to taste
  • S&P to taste

Method:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut and process the whole cauliflower in a food processor till it gets a ‘rice’ consistency.  Add to 1 inch pot of water and bring to a boil.  Boil/simmer until the cauliflower is just about fork tender (don’t want it too mushy!).  Drain well and place on thin dishtowel.  Let cool for a few minutes (my burnt fingers highly advise this!).  While waiting to cool place some parchment paper on a baking sheet.  Once cauliflower is cooled, wring out as much moisture as you can.  In a separate bowl, whisk egg and seasonings.  Add cauliflower and mix until well combined.  Place mixture on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Shape and mold into a circular pizza crust form (or any form that tickles your fancy) but don’t spread too thin! Bake at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes until golden brown all around.  Take out and add toppings and sauce as desired.  Place back in a 400 degree oven for 5-10 minutes to let any toppings warm and/or cheese to melt.  Slice and enjoy!!

pizza

Hope everyone had a great weekend!  Rock on lovers 🙂

Question: Anyone else try cauliflower anything?  Rice?  Mash?  Crust?  So Far I’ve had all three and the crust is my favorite!

15 thoughts on “MIMM, Crossfit Jitters, and Cauliflower Crust Recipe!

  1. Best of luck at CrossFit! I’m totally dying to try it, but am also so nervous to try it. My fear is barfing from over exhaustion…apparently they have buckets just for that…AHH! Please post how it goes! Hopefully you’ll give me the push need to try it out.

    • I definitely will! And you should try an intro class. Lots of boxes offer them for free and they are definitely tough, but everything is scalable so you don’t push too hard to defcon-puke! Don’t be scared, you are stronger than you think- mentally and physically!

  2. Good luck at crossfit love!! I have never done, but want to try after baby!

    I am so happy you joined in and would love you to again! Thank you! ❤

  3. I have!! But I haven’t made it since long befire going dairy-free so I’ll have to give this recipe a try.

    You know I love my roasted cauliflower and cauli mash! I’m not completely sold on cauli rice though. Too mushy for what it’s replacing.

    • I agree- cauli rice is just Bleh. Not worth the effort. I’d rather have it mashed or raw. Definitely try it with just the egg- I was totally surprised how well it tuned out!

  4. Pingback: Crossfit Elements #1 Recap and Why I Workout | Tiny n Fit

Leave a Reply

