Friday Favorites and Cookie Recipe!

What a way to kick off Friday, huh?  Cookies!!  Well, you’re going to have to wait till I get through my Friday Favorites first…or just scroll down 🙂

This week has been crazy weather-wise in DC!  Monday morning (link) we got a delay into work from the ice.  Then it was crazy warm (read: 70 degrees!!) Tuesday-Wednesday.  Today it is snowing!  Global warming perhaps??  Well, off to the favs!!

Millionaire Matchmaker I just love this show!  It’s so entertaining to see Millionaires that are real people just like us looking for love!

The Millionaire Matchmaker - Season 6Source

Some of the men on there are seriously disturbed, and the dates they pick/go on are just painful to watch.  But so so good! Definitely a guilty pleasure.

Corn bread’ muffins.  The bf made chili last week so I decided to make some paleo cornbread muffins.  These don’t taste quite like them (obviously), but I really liked the subtle honey flavor that resembled cornbread.  As always with my weird recipes, the bf said they weren’t bad, but I bet they’re molding on his kitchen counter right now.

True Lemon packets.  For a while I gave up on crystal light for whole 30 since they had additives and sugar.  But I found these ‘almost’ natural (it says it contains soy) packets and I love them!

tl_peach_lemonade_10ctSource

I definitely drink more water at work with these.  Don’t get me wrong, you plain-water purists. I can drink plain water just fine.  But life is too short to not enjoy a little peach lemonade flavored water!

New comforter Ever get the urge to change something drastic in your life? Quit your job and move to another country? Chop off your hair and rock a new bob? Go crazy and get a tattoo? (Surprise! I have one!) I have this weird urge every once in a while to make a big change in life. Since I have no desire to quit my job and move away (crazy talk!), chop off my hair (my mom would cry, and I think my bf would be upset too), or get a random tattoo (though considering a second!), I have replaced these wild urges with a new duvet.

duvet

Yup, every few months to quell these I-need-change-now feelings I get a new duvet. I am a rebel. I got the one above at Target online.

Out of the Darkness Walk is in DC this year!  I’ve thought about signing up but it requires a $1000 fundraising minimum.  I don’t know if I can raise that, but it’s something to consider.

Country music You may have noticed I sign off my blog posts with ‘rock on lovers.’  Not sure how I came up with that other than I used to be a die-hard rock music fan. All day and night that’s all I would listen to and see in concert. I’m pretty eclectic and like pop, rap, and other music, but recently (past year or so) I have really loved country music. I found the rock music played a big part in my feeling anger or anxious, even though I thought listening to angry rock music was helping. Since listening to country I have mellowed out quite a bit. Country haters can hate all you want, but if this helps me feel better I’m going to keep on keeping on with my bad southern self.

Hunter Hayes.

hunterSource

Not only do I love his music (I swoon listening to ‘Wanted’- and he played all the instruments on his album! Crazy right?), but I would love to have his children. Just kidding. Kind of. Since he’s 21 and I’m 27 I would be a bit of a cradle robber…I’ll say cougar, it’s way sexier 🙂

And now time for cookies!!  I came home from work yesterday wanting a healthy cookie. So I threw together whatever I had in my kitchen- they turned out pretty good!  Especially with a little sunbutter on top 🙂

Cookies!!

Cookies!!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C coconut flour
  • 1/4 C Maple Almond Butter
  • 1/4 C unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/5 C liquid egg whites
  • 1/2 C unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 C canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1/8 tsp Cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • Dash Cardamom (optional)

Method: Preheat oven to 350.  Mix everything together.  Spoon on Tablespoon-sized balls onto baking sheet lined with greased parchment paper (I use coconut oil spray because I’m convinced everything sticks).  Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.  They wont rise or change shape so don’t worry.  Enjoy!

Have a great Superbowl weekend everyone!  I’m rooting for the 49ers!  They were my dads fav team since we’re originally from Cali!!

Rock on lovers 🙂

7 thoughts on “Friday Favorites and Cookie Recipe!

  1. Those cookies sound awesome. I’m been dragging my feet on picking up some coconut flour… but I might just have to now. I need more practice with my gluten-free baking!

  2. Pingback: MIMM, Crossfit Jitters, and Cauliflower Crust Recipe! | Tiny n Fit

Leave a Reply

