Friday Favorites- Jedi Edition

Happy Friday folks!  I am bringing you today’s Friday Favorites from my mom’s house!  I took today off to spend some time with her this weekend.  I plan to do a whole lot of nothing- just enjoy time together 🙂

Did anyone get snow like we did in DC yesterday?  Man, do I love snow!  It definitely fits for this Friday Favorites post 🙂

Winter Wonderland

Winter Wonderland at moms

So, why the nerdy Star Wars reference to this post?  I saw this on Instagram and I will pay big money that I don’t have bake tons of cookies for whomever can get me this hoodie!

LOVE

LOVE

Source

Seems this hoodie is sold out everywhere.  I don’t care what has to be done.  Get it to me now!

Ok on to some favorites you can actually find!

I have the most unruly, fine/thin and easy-tangled hair that any hair stylist frets combing out.  Even with plenty of warning there is still usually a 10 minute torture session while they attempt to comb out the tangles.  I find that a good conditioner and combing with a large-tooth coms while in the shower helps a ton!

Best ever

Best ever

I have been using this conditioner for years.  It’s pretty inexpensive so I stock up (or hoard, according to my roommate) so I never run out.  There’s nothing worse than heading to a post-sweaty workout shower and run out of the miracle knotty-hair cure. Bonus- its smells coconutty/tropical paradise in your shower! If your hair is anything like mine (or not, then I’m totally jealous and hate you…jk) get yourself this awesome stuff!

I am currently reading the second novel Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi.

book

Source

The first book, Under the Never Sky is similar to other dystopian YA books.  It was a captivating read, thrilling, and I hated having to wait months for the second!  I’m only about 1/4 through and I love it!  Other similar novels I devoured include Delirium and its sequel Pandemonium (could NOT put these down!!), Divergent and Insurgent (also lost sleep staying up reading these!), and of course the Hunger Games.

JL

Source

I just love Jennifer Lawrence. She has such a fantastic womanly body. She’s not crazy thin and advocates a natural beauty.  I can’t thank my gf S enough for suggesting reading the Hunger Games and opening my eyes to the dystopian novel genre!

Favorite veggie has got to be roasted brussels sprouts.  I have no idea why I refused to eat them growing up, nor do I understand why people hate on them now.  Made right they are DELICIOUS!

Sprout Love

Sprout Love

Here’s my recipe for the best Brussels Sprouts EVER:

Ingredients:

  • Brussels Sprouts
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil or Coconut Oil Spray (love this stuff!)
  • S&P
  • Excitement for sprouts

Method:

Preheat oven to 400F degrees. Slice stems off the sprouts and cut the big ones in half.  Smaller ones you can keep whole.  Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with non-stick coconut oil cooking spray. Toss cut sprouts with coconut oil and S&P- or simply add to baking sheet and spray tops with more spray and add S&P.  Roast for about 30 minutes, keeping an eye on them so they don’t burn.  Remove from oven, laugh when roommate says apartment smells like farts, and enjoy!  Repeat process for optimal sprout enjoyment.

Oh yeah, my favorite coconut spray (calorie free, too!) is this magical stuff:

coco sprayIt lends a tiny sweetness to the sprouts without being overpowering at all.  I’d like to say the bf even liked them…but sadly he cannot jump on board the sprout train.  More for me!

Welp that’s all I have for you today!  I hope you guys have a great Friday and stay safe in the snow!  As I finish this post my sister texted me it’s already snowing here 🙂

Rock on Lovers!

Question: Brussels Sprouts- love or hate?  Star Wars- awesome or nerdy?

8 thoughts on “Friday Favorites- Jedi Edition

  1. Brussel sprouts seem to be popping up all over the blog world as delicious.. I just can’t get into them!

    Divergent and Insurgent = OMG. Soo addicted. My stomach literally was twisting and turning when I read about Tobias and Tris. Ridiculous, I know.
    I’m definitely going to find Under the Never Sky – sounds awesome!
    I just finished “Matched”, which is another YA dystopian novel, and I loooved it. I read the whole thing in two days. I bet you would like it if you haven’t already read it!
    I just got Pandemonium from the library so I’m excited to start reading!

    Thank you for refueling my book love! haha

Leave a Reply

