My Go-To Marinara Sauce

Happy Monday lovers!  How was your weekend?  Mine was pretty lame.  I am still recovering from a nasty cold so I didn’t do much aside from running errands and hanging out with the sick bf.  But I got some good cleaning and food prep done for Whole30 this week.  A quiet a productive weekend- I’ll take it!

I tried a new recipe for lunches this week- well, I winged it.  I baked some chicken and veggies coated with cumin for fajita salads.  I’m trying to incorporate new recipes on Whole30 so I don’t get bored.  I have a couple recipes I’m really good at are are my go-to meals.  I’m sure those that can cook (or those that attempt 🙂 ) have their own go-to recipes as well. They are familiar to me and are usually the first recipes my momma taught me to make.  This one is no exception- my momma was famous for her spaghetti sauce…well, to me and my family anyway!  Like her/my Magical soup, it is very simple and easy to make!  Plus, you can customize it however you like!  Use ground beef or lamb instead of ground chicken, add whatever veggies you like, and kick up the heat with more chili flakes and garlic!

I posted this recipe to Instagram and Twitter (@Shortqtpie) and a fellow twitterer asked for the recipe (color me shocked!!).  I promised it yesterday but I had a crazy wicked headache that made looking at anything extremely painful, especially the computer screen.  So here it is!  My go-to spaghetti marinara sauce.  To make it Whole30 compliant, use spaghetti squash instead of noodles.

Ingredients:

  • 1lb ground protein of choice (I used organic chicken)
  • 1 can tomato sauce (I used fire roasted tomatoes for a different flavor)
  • ¾ tomato sauce can of water (don’t knock a good built-in measuring tool!)
  • 1 small can of tomato paste
  • 3-5 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced (add or subtract to taste)
  • ½ Vidalia or yellow onion, peeled and minced if you like (I used dried onion flakes because I don’t like crunching on onions)
  • 1-2 T dried oregano and basil to taste
  • Veggies to taste (I used zucchini and yellow squash half moons!)
  • ¼-1/2 cup Parmesan cheese (whole30 omit)

Method:

Brown ground meat in medium heat pan with a little olive or coconut oil.  S&P to taste.  Once browned, reduce heat to medium low and add veggies of choice, onion, garlic and let heat through for a couple minutes.  Add tomato sauce and paste, plus can of water and stir until well combined. Add oregano and basil and let simmer for about 5-10 mins for all the flavors to meld.  Add parmesan cheese and stir to combine.  Top your favorite pasta or spaghetti squash (whole30/paleo), garnish with a little fresh basil and enjoy!

Marinara with spaghetti squash and 'toasted' cauliflower mash!

Marinara with spaghetti squash and ‘toasted’ cauliflower mash!

Follow me on twitter?  Saw my tweets about Crossfit?  Don’t worry, I plan to do a Crossfit overview of the two box’s I tried in the last couple of weeks!  I plan to sign up but both boxes intro classes are full!  Darn new years resolutioners.  Hopefully it will weed some out 🙂

Rock on Lovers 🙂

What’s your go to meal?

2 thoughts on “My Go-To Marinara Sauce

Leave a Reply

