Giving Some Heart This Christmas

Well long time no chat again!  Can you believe Christmas is less than a week away??  Craziness!  I am all set with my Christmas shopping- well, aside from a couple things I still need to pick up when I get to my moms house.  I cant wait- the bf will be spending Christmas with me as I spent last weekend with his family for an early Christmas in upstate NY!  I had such a blast.. but more on that weekend in another post.  Perhaps I’ll do a Christmas recap on Christmas with his fam and my fam?!

Eye squish kiss picking out a xmas tree!

Eye squish kiss picking out a xmas tree!

I had this idea before December started, but as always life got in the way for me to post.  Christmas is the time for giving- not just material items (boy will my family be happy this year!) but also giving from the heart.  Especially in the wake of Sandy Hook, I think now more than ever everyone should reach into their hearts and give back.  It is the best gift you can give to those in need, and I’m sure Santa will be extra good to you this year, too 🙂

First I want to mention a charity for Sandy Hook.  I saw this link on Julie’s blog and I think it is just outstanding.  A school memorial fund was established for Sandy Hook to provide funding for education for the children affected by the tragedy.  Learn more here to donate!

I think we all know the more familiar charities (but no less important!) this time of year like Toys for Tots and Salvation Army, but I wanted to include a few others that are unique.  Please consider other options when opening your heart this holiday season!

Oxfam America– A selection of items that will support families with gardens, goats, even honey bees! They have a wide selection and price ranges for every budget.  Give a gift that will help a family feed their village!

Project Angel Food– From their website, “Project Angel Food’s mission is to nourish the body and spirit of men, women and children  affected by HIV/AIDS, Cancer and other life-threatening illnesses. Volunteers and staff cook and deliver free and nutritious meals prepared with love throughout Los Angeles County, acting out of a sense of urgency because hunger and illness do not wait. We deliver more than 13,000  meals every week to people in need.”  Such a great cause!

National Trust for Historic Preservation– help save history!

The Holiday Project– visit and bring residents holiday cheer! I love this! (DC area!)

Literacy Volunteers– Help immigrants learn English!

Cant forget the furry children!  Consider donating to the ASPCA or Human Society.

Some other ideas to help give back- visit your local soup kitchen and help out!  Donate to your local food bank.  Donate to:

Ronald McDonald House

Make a Wish

And check out my advocate page for more charities close to my heart!

I hope everyone considers giving a bit of their hearts this year along with their Xbox games, tacky sweaters, and endless chocolate goodies.  Happy Holidays everyone and Merry Christmas!!

Rock on lovers!!

Leave a Reply

