Survey Thursday!

Hello and happy Thursday Lovers!  How is everyone’s week going?  My weekend was good and not so good.  That job test I studied for?  Bombed it.  Not that I’m making excuses (other than me not having the brain power to do it), but that test was ridiculously hard.  Harder than I remember the GREs being!  In any event, I failed it…man, that is so hard to admit.  I hate failing anything and then having to admit it makes it seem more real.  But honestly, I have a job I like/love (learning to love, as soon as I am able to learn more about what I do!) and I have a great family and supportive friends- what more could I ask for out of life?  Perhaps fate is telling me I just got this new position so I must accept and be grateful before asking for another opportunity so soon.  Plus, I found out there was a slim-to-none chance of me actually getting a position if I passed in the office I wanted.  So I can wait and study hard for the next posting when fate says I am ready.   Besides, I’ve learned a valuable lesson the last few years that really helps with any bad thing I experience- dwelling does nothing for me.  I need to accept what has happened and learn that I cannot change or be upset over something that has already happened, but I can do something about what happens now and what happens in my future.  So I refuse to dwell or mope any longer than I did (a few hours and this paragraph).

The rest of the weekend (post test bombing) was great!  I spent a good couple hours atoning for my failure by cleaning our apartment-you could eat off every surface of that place.  Afterwards I had a lovely date night in Chinatown getting my all-time favorite gelato (pistachio flavor aka mouthgasm!) and seeing the Avengers movie!  It was really good!  Sunday I spent the day doing more chores and prepping food for the week.  After seeing this fun Survey I found originally through Ashley’s blog but have seen it pop up all around the healthy blogosphere!  Now it’s my turn 🙂

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

I made a batch of coconut flour pancakes into coconut flour bakes- basically just putting the batter in a baking dish and popping into the oven for a breakfast cake!

2. How much water do you drink a day?

I don’t take count, but I try to drink 2-3 20 oz bottles while at work, then another 1-2 (or more if its an intense workout day) once I am home.

3. What is your current  favorite workout?

Treadmill sprints!  I don’t know why it took me this long to ‘find’ them.  I was aware before, but not until I read an article on nerdfitness.com about interval sprint did I start doing them.  And now I love it! 

4. How many calories do you eat a day?

I don’t count calories, but I would guesstimate at about 1500-1800 a day (I’m little remember, so I don’t require that much and make sure to fuel pre- and post-workout properly).

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

Pretty sure snacking is my middle name (interchangeable with noshing).  I love most nuts- especially almonds, cashews and macadamias.  Apples with almond butter.  Cottage cheese with crunchy anything in it.

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

It depends what the mood is.  This week is been butter lettuce (my fav!) salad with Boar’s Head no-salt-added turkey, baby carrots and dollops of Whole Foods Guacamole.

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?

Also depends on my mood.  Some days I love the burn, others I hate it.  I would say my lower body- quads and hamstring.  Love me some squats!

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

My triceps- its been an on-going epic battle for most my life.

9. What are your “bad” food cravings?

I agree with most bloggers that answered this- ‘bad’ food is a bad mental habit.  Yes, some are less healthy than others, but deprivation of foods you love will only cause you to binge on them (or others) if you deprive yourself too long.  I love crème brulee, Reese’s, and home made dark chocolate chip cookies.  I also love my moms chesnut stuffing for thanksgiving- made with unthinkable amounts of real butter.  It. Is. Ah-maze-ing.

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?

Yes- just a multi gummy vitamin.  Yes, I am an adult and proud to admit my love for gummy vitamins.

11. How often do you eat out?

Rarely- maybe once a week, depending who I am with.  If we’re talking just for treats- couple times.  I get froyo at least once a week, if not more.

12. Do you eat fast food?

Nope.  I don’t like the feeling of a rock in my stomach afterwards.  I always feel greasy and gross.  The last ‘fast food’ I had was sweet potato tots from Sonic.  Super yummy, but instant heartburn.

13. Who is your biggest supporter?

My mom and one of my best friends S.  Both placate all my crazy fitness and diet changes.  And S, the lovely guinea pig, will always try my crazy healthy concoctions. She’s such a good sport 🙂

14. Do you have a gym membership?

I used to for more than 2 years.  I ended it last September when I lost all interest in going and was sick of the same place.  I now vary my workouts between the gym in my apartment to cable-provided ondemand workouts to various workout DVDs I have.

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

Varies- I try to get 7.5-8, but I usually have trouble sleeping so sometimes its only 6.5-7. 

16. Do you have a “cheat” day?

Nope, every day is cheat day- I always try to fit in some chocolate or sweet treat like froyo.  Life is too short to deprive all the time!

17. Do you drink alcohol?

Rarely.  Ask any of my friends and I just don’t drink much when I go out.  Maybe a drink before we go out or one there, but that’s it.

18. Do you have a workout buddy?

My ipod.  Sometimes my roommate- but I usually like to workout solo.  Its my decompression me-time.

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a Healthy Lifestyle?

Learning all kinds of new workouts and trying new foods!  Who knew nut butter on cottage cheese would be SOOO good?  I also feel great knowing I’m doing something good for my body that keeps me alive and kicking every day!

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

Aside from the normal eat breakfast, drink water, worked out last night- I rested my pulled quad muscle and gently eased back into a workout regimen to ensure I did not reinjure it.

Your turn!  Answer a few or all!!

Rock on lovers 🙂

Leave a Reply

