April Foodie Pen Pals and family weekend fun!

I am alive!!!

Hello lovers!  How was your weekend?  Sorry I’ve been a bit MIA recently- I’ve been trying to catch up on life and find time for myself.  And I can safely say that after some good spring cleaning of my apartment I feel more relaxed and free and ready to get back to regular posting!

My weekend was chock full of fun and relaxation.  Friday I cleaned out my apartment of some things I’d been meaning to organize and toss- very cathartic to clean out junk you don’t need!  Don’t you just love that freeing feeling?  That night I drove to Williamsburg with my mom to see my niece perform at her cheer-leading competition on Saturday at Busch Gardens.  I have never been a fan of cheer-leading (I grew up swimming competitively and playing what my mom called ‘contact’ soccer), but it was neat to see all the girls all dolled up and having fun.  And I am proud of her performing and putting her all into learning!

That's her doing the backbend. Proud Auntie here 🙂

We also got to ride one roller coaster- the Griffin- which was CRAZY SCARY!  I barely opening my eyes!!  Unfortunately the weather turned colder and started to rain, so we all hit the outlets for some shopping.  The best purchase was this Stormtrooper t-shirt. I am a nerd through and through- and I totally rocked this shirt on  date!

Star Wars nerd at heart

After some good purchases were made we drove home where I decided it was time for some punk rock in my life- and put red highlights in my hair!  Its not permanent, so it will wash out in a few weeks, but it’ll be fun while it lasts!  Sunday I spent super-cleaning my apartment, errand shopping, and coconut flour pancake making.  Recipe to come!

One delish pancake mess!

Ok now onto the main event!!  Today Yesterday was the Food Pen Pal Reveal day thanks to Lindsay at the Lean Green Bean.  Wow, I can’t believe it’s the 30th already! May 1st already!! Where has the time gone?  Today marks the beginning of the month of crazy vacations!!  Every weekend is packed- I have a 5k, a concert, an ulcer-inducing test for a possible new job, a girls weekend getaway to NC to visit a college friend, a weekend at VA beach with my mom, then my cruise to the Mediterranean!!  But enough about my heavily scheduled month of crazy- on to the goods!

April’s Food Pen Pal box was sent to me by the lovely Rachel at Three Men and A Little Lady.  I cannot tell you how much I LOVED this box!  Its like she knew me!  Creamy Almond butter (which surprisingly is still intact, though almost completely gone), my FAVORITE oatmeal in a new awesome flavor, a Kind bar (that I devoured while opening the rest of the box), some hot chocolate mix, gluten free pretzel stix (LOVE anything crunchy!), and a recipe she received from her new Louisiana neighbors with an awesome spice mix to use with it! I have yet to try it but look forward to making this amazing recipe- who wouldn’t want to use a spice mix called ‘Slap Yo Mama’?  Thank you so much, Rachel, I loved EVERYTHING in the box!

SUCH amazing goods!!

What is a Foodie Pen Pal you ask?  Why, the greatest club for foodies ever!!   Want to be a foodie pen pal, too?  Check out Lindsay’s blog!

Well that should do it!  I have a few interesting posts lined up for this week, including coconut flour recipe, paleo diet musings, things I wonder about…and more!  So stay tuned 🙂  Have a fabulous night!  I’m off to catch up on Vampire Diaries 🙂

Question for you rockers: Ever get that rush after cleaning out and tossing junk? Anyone else have a shameless love for Star Wars?  Cheer-leader or soccer?

Rock on lovers!!

5 thoughts on “April Foodie Pen Pals and family weekend fun!

  1. aww you should be one proud aunt.. how cool! I like to watch cheer leading, it’s so impressive as I could never do any of the moves they can!
    Great box of goodies you got too… I love kind bars so I understand eating it quick and also almond butter doesn’t stand much of a chance around me 😉

  2. That box of tasty treats looks fan-freakin-tastic! The maple flavor of that almond butter is to die for btw! Those twigs are pretty special too. Oh, and that Stormtrooper tee would drive my son bonkers…we’re die hard Star Wars fans over here lol

Leave a Reply

