Shamrockless Weekend and On-the-Fly granola bars

Hello and Happy Friday lovers!!  I hope everyone has fun plans this weekend!  Want to know my plans this weekend?

Nothing.

What?  No St. Patrick’s Day plans, Krista??

Yeah not this year.  Actually, last year was pretty low key as well.  I, along with my friend C and R, went to Michelle’s house and had a green food-themed night.  Michelle made some awesome green fruit Sangria with grapes, kiwi, and thinly-sliced granny smith apples.  It was delicious!

Anyway, while I LOVE going to my favorite Irish Pub with my friends every once in a while, I don’t fancy rowdy crowds and crazy drunks.  But at the same time I do kind of want to go out with friends.  Who knows?  Maybe I will get inspired and go out.  But since going to West Virginia to visit E last weekend, I feel a nice relaxed weekend at home is just what I need.

Speaking of West Virginia- I had some AMAZING eats last weekend I just have to share!  First is a super delicious chocolate peanut butter mini cupcake (everything is cuter as a mini!!) we had from The Cupcakerie.  The place was SOO cute inside!  And the mini cupcake?  SO moist, the iciing not too sweet, and it had a mini reese’s cup under the icing!

Yum

On our last day (aka Sunday) we went to Kenyan Cafe.  I had the Ugali with scrambled eggs and kale.  The spices were so warm but not too spicy.  It was just perfect!

SO good!

SO good!

After I returned home I wanted to try and make some home made granola bars on the fly with whatever I had.  So here it is- can you read my chicken scratch??

Bad handwriting

On the fly Granola Bars

Ingredients:

3/4 C no sugar added applesauce

1/2 C cashew pieces

1/8 C almonds, chopped

1 T chia seeds

3/4 C brown rice cereal

3/4 C rolled oats

2 T Honey

2 T Agave

1/4 C dark chocolate chunks

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together, mush into pan and bake at 375 for 20 minutes, then 350 for 15 minutes.

Mix Mix Mix

They didnt turn out too bad- kind of crumbly but kept their shape once cute and placed in the fridge.  I snacked on them all week!!

Old School Plates

And there ya have it!!  You can always adjust the ingredients to your taste- different nuts, maybe dried fruit, milk/white chocolate chips, different fruit like canned pumpkin, or even add nut butters!  Go crazy with what you have in your cupboard!

Question:  Any fun St Patrick’s Day plans?  Can I live vicariously through you? 🙂

Rock on lovers! (and be safe this weekend!)

Leave a Reply

