Last Day Sadness And Oatmeal Heaven

Hello lovers!  Sorry it’s been a while since I posted last.  I have been a bit preoccupied with work changes.  I announced in a previous post about my new job and the anxiety with starting a new job.  Well, tomorrow is my last day at my old position.  I have been in this position almost 4 years to the day.  I have to say I have met some of the most amazing people in my job that without I would not be where I am today.  They all individually have helped shaped the woman I am today, and collectively have been the most supportive, generous, and compassionate coworkers that are my closest friends I could ever hope for.  I am truly blessed to have these amazing women in my life and am so incredibly sad to be leaving them.  And although I am very excited for this new challenge, I will definitely miss seeing them every morning, going on our early coffee runs to our cafeteria, frequent runs to froyo, and the ability to run to their desks across the room to rant/cry/laugh at any crazy moments happening at work.  I truly am finding it difficult to believe it will be my last day tomorrow…but I will be just a few floors away 🙂

Ok, with the sappy and tearfulness aside I have to share with you a breakfast I had that was super amazing. I’m pretty sure I have mentioned my love for breakfast foods before.  If not, here’s a visual recap:

LOVE Breakfast

Well, replace the toast with oatmeal because I could eat oatmeal everyday.  No lie, every. Single. Day.  I will mix it up by adding different protein options like protein powder, chia seeds (love the gel-texture it added!), nut-butters (almond butter is my lover), and just this morning after reading quite a few posts on it I added egg whites.  Since I don’t have a stove or unlimited time in the morning to make a leisurely breakfast like some (jealous! Im out the door at 6:40am), I brought a little Tupperware of liquid carton egg whites to work with my absolute favorite (and currently out of stock of every flipping store I go into) organic oatmeal.  I shook the little Tupperware to mimic the ‘fork fluffing’ of the egg whites, then cooked the oatmeal in the microwave for about a minute and half.  I then added the foamy egg whites to the oatmeal and zapped it for another couple minutes in the microwave.  Once it was done and fluffy, I stirred in bucket loads of cinnamon like a mad woman.  The final result was gloriously fluffy and voluminous oatmeal.

I give you heaven in a bowl

PS- isn’t the photo cool?  I’ve been playing with picnik (which is sadly end in a few weeks!  Any recommendations for a similarly awesome free online photo editor?)

Today was also a fabulous day today in the Nation’s Capital.  It was a beautiful 68 degrees, sunny, and just amazing.  While my workouts and eating have been less than stellar (minus a fun outside run to the doggy park with my roommie S today after work), and aside from the new-job anxiety and stress, I have been feeling pretty bubbly and happy.  I feel it’s very difficult for me to be continuously happy since losing my father.  Perhaps I’ve reached a new level in my grief journey?

Or is it just the amazing oatmeal breakfast?

Or both?

Whatever it is I hope it continues as I start my new job!  Wish me luck!

Question: Ever have bouts of general happiness for unknown reasons?

Rock on lovers 🙂

Leave a Reply

