Anxiety/New Job, plus The Royal Burpee Challenge!

Hello everyone and Happy Weekend!  I don’t know about you but this week has been crazy long and exhausting!  First things first- I got a new job! Woo!  I will still be working for the same Agency, just as a different position and out of Human Resources.  I’m very excited as I have been trying to get for a couple of years now, but the job economy has been less than stellar.  I am eternally grateful for my time spent where I have been- I have met so many amazing people and made some really great friends.  I am truly sad to be leaving and hope with every fiber of my being that I will remain great friends with a select few.  I wont be moving far- just a couple floors down- so there’s no excuse to not get coffee/lunch/froyo a couple times a week!  While I am excited for a new position with new projects and responsibilities, I am so so so anxious and nervous, too!

I feel ya buddy

I have an unfortunate habit that with every new life challenge I make myself so anxious it literally effects my life.  In middle school I had horrendous stomach pains, in college I would have headaches, and as an adult (as evident all this week when I found out I got the job) I have not been sleeping well at all, even with the help of sleep aids, relaxation techniques, etc.  Hopefully this will end soon when I can convince myself I will be just fine and will conquer this new job with the same vigor as I have my current job!

Today’s workout was a mix of whatever I felt like doing- I barely got 5 hours sleep last night thanks to my anxiety, so I was pretty  exhausted when I got home from work.  I attempted to nap without success, but felt pretty rested anyway.  Here’s what I accomplished on limited sleep:

10 minutes HIIT treadmill warm-up

10 minutes arm and leg weight machines (15 reps/3 sets of 5 machines)

15 minutes Bodyrock tabatas

15 minutes arm workout with free weights plus some ab work

I was a sweaty beast when I finished!  I felt super accomplished I tackled my taxes…and quickly saved and exited out of the program when I didn’t see a big return.  I may ask the tax people tomorrow what the deal is as I had a pretty nice return last year and expected at least nearing that this year.  Stupid tax season!

One last thing-I am FB fitness group friends with the very lovely DC Event Junkie – and I have joined her as well as Hey Love Designs in the Royal Burpee Challenge!  From the website I will be joining in the craziness:

Burpee Madness

“Those who join us in the challenge will start with a single burpee on Feb. 11. On Feb. 12, the second day, we will do two burpees. On Feb. 13, the third day, we will do three burpees. We will continue adding a burpee to our daily workout until June 4, when we will do 115 burpees in honor of what would be Royal H. Burpee’s 115th birthday. Over the course of the challenge, athletes will do a total of 6,670 burpees.”

Over 6500 burpess total?  Yup, I must be crazy!!

 

Anyway I hope you lovely kids have a fantastic – anxiety free!- weekend!

 

Rock on Lovers 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Anxiety/New Job, plus The Royal Burpee Challenge!

  1. New jobs are always stressful. I’m just on week five myself and still looking to find my feet. Way beyond my comfort zone I find that it’s the only place to be to improve myself.

    Wishing you the best of luck and looking forward to sharing the Burpee madness with ya!

  2. Bummer about the tax return 😦 Now I’m scared to do mine! Try not to stress about your new job, it will be so satisfying to do something new and meet new people. Of course, your bestest buddies (like me!) will miss you a lot but will still see you a whole bunch!

  3. Pingback: Last Day Sadness And Oatmeal Heaven « tinynfit

Leave a Reply

