Awesome Weekend/Workout and Chia Seed Pudding Recipe!

Hello and happy Monday blog world!!  Hope everyone had a great weekend!  Mine was pretty awesome!  Spent my Friday night in doing laundry (woo!), Saturday I blew a ton of money- new expensive Lucky Brand Jeans for myself and new earrings for my momma for Valentines day!  Then had had a fun night out in DC for a friend’s birthday Saturday night, followed by a fantastic brunch with two very lovely ladies (heylovedesigns and citygirlblogs).  These women are so amazing and inspirational, I am so lucky to have such great friends!  After an epic nap afterwards (hey, I went to bed at 4:30am, I was starting to crash after my brunch-induced-food-coma!), I went to work- both prepping healthy lunches for work and on my workout!  Here’s what I sweated out:

  •  2.00 miles (intervals) on the treadmill- about 25 minutes with warm up and cool down
  • Bodyrock week 1, day two 30 day challenge (I use this as a second workout when I do Bodyrock to really sweat it out)
  • Gilad thighs/buns/biceps/triceps on DVR

All in all, about 45 minutes, which is really the most I want to spend on my workouts.  I’m all about efficiency rather than hours at the gym or on the treadmill.  Want shorter workouts with better payoff?  Look into HIIT/tabata/plyometrics!!  Don’t worry, I’ll do a super post on them soon because I love them so much 🙂

Now what you’re all waiting for- chia seed pudding!!  I know youre thinking- what?? Chia pets growing in my tummy?  No thanks!!

Retro Chia Pet

Well lets review the new super food!!  Chia seeds are tiny nutritional-power-houses full of all kinds of nutritional benefits: fiber, protein, antioxidants, as well as aiding hydration because of its ability to swell and retain water:

Swollen Chia Seed

Just check out their amazing stats here!

After reviewing many recipes on chia seed pudding from my favorite fitness blogs, I decided to make my own recipe!  It makes a great pre/post workout snack or even just a healthy treat by itself!  Word to the wise- when making chia seed pudding, you have to soak the seeds to get the ‘swell’ effect…which results if what’s called chia gel:

Chia Seed Gel

Once mixed with all the other ingredients, its not too bad, but if you’re super sensitive to a bit slimy texture I suggest blending it before chowing down :

Without further adieu: Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chia Seed Pudding Awesomeness!

Adapted from Oh She Glows:

Ingredients:

  • 2 T chia seeds
  • 1/2 C non-dairy milk (I used original, unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 t unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 t PB2 (powdered peanut butter that has 85% less fat than regular PB!)
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1/2 T sweetener to taste (I used a couple drops of liquid stevia, but you could use sugar, agave, maple syrup, brown rice syrup, etc)

Directions: Mix chia, water, and milk together and stir for about 1 minute or two. Next add in the cocoa and PB2 and sweetener to taste. Stir for another minute and then pop it into the fridge for about 10-15 minutes. Remove from fridge and stir for another 20-30 seconds. To really get it thick, let it sit overnight (or if you can’t wait that long like me, let it sit while you sweat it out and shower). Now devour and enjoy your super amazing chia pudding! Angela said you can microwave it too, but I like my pudding cold. Yields about 3/4 cup.

Super Yum

 Well that’s all for today loves!  Hope you enjoy the chia seed pudding and hope you had a good Monday!  Rock on lovers!

Leave a Reply

